Sylhet retain women’s nat’l title


Sylhet Division became unbeaten champions in the 10th National Women’s Cricket League which concluded on Wednesday at Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium in Cox’s Bazar.
Sylhet won all their seven matches in the tournament, which helped them lift the title for the second successive time as they finished four points ahead of Dhaka Division, who won five out of seven matches.
Jahanara Alam-led side also became only the second team after Khulna Division to win the tournament more than once in the competition history.
Khulna had won the competition five times in 10 editions, including four successive titles from 2008-09 to 2011-12 seasons.
Khulna’s Rumana Ahmed was named player of the tournament for her all-round display throughout the tournament scoring 205 runs and taking joint-highest 16 wickets.
Barishal’s Nahida Akhter also got highest 16 wickets in the tournament along with Rumana.
Mursheda Khatun Happy of Sylhet was the best batter in the tournament as she made highest 414 runs in seven matches hitting one hundred and three fifties.
Shorna, the 14 year-old leg-break bowler from Mymensingh was adjudged as most promising player of the tournament for her 15 wickets in seven matches.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>